Focus areas

biological systems modeling, immune system modeling, gene regulation and modeling of gene regulatory networks 

Participating faculty

  Name Title, Department Research Interests Contact
Vrushali A Bokil Associate Professor
Mathematics

Mathematical biology. Deterministic and stochastic modeling, analysis and simulation of multiscale problems in epidemiology.

bokilv@math.oregonstate.edu
541-737-2609

 Patrick De Leenheer Patrick De Leenheer 

Professor
Mathematics

Mathematical biology, with applications to the mathematical modeling and control in immunology, systems biology, (bio)chemical reaction networks, bioreactors, epidemiology, population biology and social and economic networks

deleenhp@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-5171

Cindy Grimm Cindy Grimm Associate Professor 
Mechanical Engineering
Understanding how humans perform 3D volume segmentation and how to improve their process; modeling 3D surfaces and structures in order to link form to function. grimmc@engr.oregonstate.edu
541-737-4914
David Hendrix Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Biophysics
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Structure, function and mechanisms of action of non-coding RNAs, both large and small

david.hendrix@oregonstate.edu

541-241-6151

Goran Jovanovic Goran Jovanovic Professor
Chemical Engineering
Development of microscale chemical reactors and separators suitable for the development of microscale based chemical processes and the development of microscale biosensors devices. goran.jovanovic@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3614 
Molly Megraw Molly Megraw Assistant Professor
Botany and Plant Pathology
Understanding how small RNAs and transcription factors work together in living cells.

megrawm@science.oregonstate.edu

541-737-1118

Thomas Sharpton Thomas Sharpton Assistant Professor
Microbiology
Ascertaining how commensal microbiota and their genomic characteristics (i.e., the microbiome) relate to health. 

thomas.sharpton@oregonstate.edu

541-737-8623

James A. Strother James Strother

Assistant Professor
Integrative Biology

How physiology, biomechanics, and neurobiology shape the interaction of animals with their environment.
 
 
Brian Wood Brian Wood Professor
Environmental Engineering
Transport phenomena in biological systems, with particular focus on using upscaling methods to develop coarse-grained representations of biological processes in tissues and organs.

brian.wood@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3099

 [Note: Additional faculty listings will be added to this page.]