Focus areas

biosensors, microfluidics, biomedical device design and manufacturing, biological signal processing, medical robotics, point of care diagnostics

Participating faculty

  Name Title, Department Research Interests Contact
Ravi Balasubramanian Ravi Balasubramanian

Assistant Professor
Mechanical Engineering

Robotics and human control systems. 

ravi.balasubramanian@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4267

Larry Cheng Larry Cheng
Assistant Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Nanomaterials and integrated devices for bioanalysis, with focus on point-of-care testing.

chengli@eecs.oregonstate.edu
541-737-8218

John F. Conley Jr.

John F. Conley Jr.

Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Materials and devices for bio-medical sensing applications.

jconley@eecs.oregonstate.edu
541-737-9874

Pallavi Dhagat Pallavi Dhagat

Associate Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering

Information storage, magnetization dynamics, magnetic nano-metrology, bio-magnetic sensors and distributed sensor systems.

dhagat@oregonstate.edu
541-737-9927

Elain Fu Elain Fu Assistant Professor
Bioengineering

 

Molecular interactions and fluid transport in microfluidic systems, the development of tools and methods for use in high-performance microfluidic assays, and the implementation of microfluidic assays for clinically relevant analytes. elain.fu@oregonstate.edu
Greg Herman Greg Herman
Professor
Chemical Engineering

 

Development of biosensors with an emphasis on flexible, inorganic, field effect transistors for wearable and implantable applications. 

greg.herman@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2496

Adam Z. Higgins Associate Professor
Chemical, Biological, and Environmental Engineering

Medical bioprocessing, with a particular emphasis on technologies for long-term stabilization of cell-based products and microfluidic devices for chemical processing of blood.

adam.higgins@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6245

Matthew Johnston

Matthew Johnston

Assistant Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering

 

 
 
Electronic sensors, circuits, and devices, with an emphasis on biosensor and bioelectronic platforms, massively-parallel sensing, and lab-on-chip technologies for medical monitoring and point-of-care diagnostics.

matthew.johnston@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3320

Goran Jovanovic Goran Jovanovic
Professor
Chemical Engineering
Development of microscale chemical reactors and separators suitable for the development of microscale based chemical processes and the development of microscale biosensors devices. goran.jovanovic@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3614 
 
Bill Smart Bill Smart Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering

 

 
 Robotics and machine learning.

bill.smart@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3614 

James Sweeney James Sweeney Professor and School Head
Chemical, Biological, and Environmental Engineering
Bio- and environmental sensors, bioelectricity, implanted medical devices, neuromuscular stimulation, and engineering education.
jim.sweeney@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3769
Alan Wang Alan Wang
Associate Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Optical sensing for biomedical research and environment protection.

alan.wang@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4247