Focus areas

bioactive and biocompatible surface coatings, advanced surface analysis, mechanical properties of solids and complex fluids, implant biocompatibility and biomechanics, nanomaterials 

Participating faculty

  Name Title, Department Research Interests Contact
Adam Alani Adam Alani

Assistant Professor
Pharmaceutical Sciences

Biocompatible, biodegradable therapeutic polymers for specific disease states.

adam.alani@oregonstate.edu
503-346-4702

Joe Baio Joe Baio Assistant Professor
Bioengineering
Biomaterials, biomimetics, molecular self-assembly

joe.baio@oregonstate.edu

Luiz Bermudez Luiz Bermudez Professor
Microbiology
Mechanisms of pathogenesis of intracellular bacteria, with focus on mycobacteria

luiz.bermudez@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6532

Larry Cheng Larry Cheng
Assistant Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering


Nanomaterials and integrated devices for bioanalysis, with focus on point-of-care testing.

chengli@eecs.oregonstate.edu
541-737-8218

Morgan Giers Morgan Giers Assistant Professor
Bioengineering
Predicting treatment outcomes for intervertebral disc (IVD) regenerative and surgical therapies. Utilizing MRI, image processing, mathematical modeling, tissue engineering, drug delivery, and surgery to study transport phenomena in vivo.  morgan.giers@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0961
Stacey Harper Stacey Harper Associate Professor
Environmental Engineering
Novel approaches to predictive toxicology.

stacey.harper@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2791

Weihong Qiu Weihong Qiu Assistant Professor
Physics
Mechanism and regulation of molecular motor proteins involved in cell division; engineering controllable molecular motor proteins; single-molecule imaging. weihong.qiu@physics.oregonstate.edu
Skip Rochefort Skip Rochefort Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering
Rheological, molecular, thermal, and surface characterization of polymer-based biomaterials and biomedical devices.

skip.rochefort@oregonstate.edu
541-737-2408

Kate Schilke Kate Schilke Assistant Professor
Bioengineering
Development of peptide-based bioactive surface modifications for biomedical devices, and applications of immobilized biomolecules in microreactors and lab-on-chip devices.

kate.schilke@oregonstate.edu
541-737-7283

Conroy Sun Conroy Sun

Assistant Professor 
Pharmaceutical Sciences

 

Applying nanotechnology toward unanswered problems in cancer care. 

sunco@oregonstate.edu
503-346-4699